Info & Events

  @BestLifeMN  |  BestLifeAlliance |  Pinterest  |   YouTube

ARRM is an active member of the Best Life Alliance, formerly known as The 5% Campaign.  Best Life Alliance is a Minnesota coalition advocating for Home & Community-Based Services that support people with disabilities and employ Direct Support Professionals. Supporters include Minnesota service providers, caregivers/Direct Support Professionals, self-advocates, family members, and community partners.  We are part of a state-wide movement toward fully person-centered and community-integrated services for people with disabilities.  

The alliance formed in 2014 and maintains that life in the community is the first and best option for people with disabilities, as well as their families, workers and our state as a whole.  The lives that many people with disabilities build for themselves depend on state funding. Home & Community-Based Services increase independence and allow people to be active participants in their communities. Services foster skill development, provide job coaching, ensure health and safety, allow people to volunteer, and much more. 
People with disabilities, older adults, caregivers, more than 130 organizations, family members, and advocates throughout Minnesota are a part of this major statewide campaign. 

After just ten short weeks, the 2016 legislative session ended on May 22, 2016. While a rate increase for Home & Community-Based Services was not included in the final budget agreement between legislators and Governor Dayton, we are proud of the great work done by thousands of supporters. Together, over the past year, thousands of supporters rallied loudly, met with policymakers at the Capitol, hosted town halls and site visits, and attracted media to shine a bright light on the critical need for funding to support people with disabilities, older adults and caregivers across Minnesota. Our legislation for a 5% rate increase in 2016 was co-authored by 116 legislators.

Our work is not done and the Steering Team is currently drafting Best Life Alliance's 2017 legislation. The proposal will move forward focused on disability services, and we will share details with you as soon as they are available. Together, we will ask legislators to support Home & Community Based Services that serve people with disabilities and the Direct Support Professional workforce.   It will ensure better compensation for direct care workers, and support more stable, quality services that allow people with disabilities to live as independently as possible in the community.  We will continue to work in partnership with older adult organizations, and welcome their support as we move ahead.

We can't let up this year - it is too important.  We know that persistent action statewide is needed for us to be successful again, just as we were in 2014.

Download Resources about The Best Life Alliance

Best Life Alliance Messages
Election and Voter Resources
2016 Best Life Alliance Fact Sheet
Telling Your Story: Messages for Self-Advocates, Family Members and Staff
2016 Infographic
2016 Legislation Fact Sheet
2016 Best Life Alliance Bill

Attend Upcoming Candidate Forums

Best Life Alliance is partnering with ARRM and its member organizations and community organizations will be hosting a series of candidate forums around the state this October. These events are designed to educate voters on their local candidate's viewpoints on important issues affecting the disability community, as well as provide voting tools and resources to attendees to help them feel prepared when going to vote on November 8th. All events can be found on this flyer.

Monday, October 3rd, 6:00-8:00 pm

District 42
Roseville Library
2180 North Hamline Ave

Roseville, MN 55113

Co-Hosts: ARRM, BLA, REM Ramsey, Northeast Residence, Living Well Disability Services, MAMES, MN-CCD
Help promote the event -- download the promotional flyer

Tuesday, October 4th, 5:00-7:00 pm  

District 19
Blue Earth County Library 100 E. Main St.

Mankato, MN 56001

Co-Hosts: ARRM, BLA, MBW Company, Harry Meyering Center, Habilitative Services, MAMES, MN-CCD
Help promote the event -- download the promotional flyer


Thursday, October 6th, 6:00-8:00 pm  

District 14
Independent Lifestyles
215 N Benton Drive

Sauk Rapids, MN 56379

Help promote the event -- download the promotional flyer


Tuesday, October 11th, 6:00-8:00 pm  

District 35/37
Mary T. Inc- Margaret Place Senior Apartments
1555 118th Lane NW
Coon Rapids, MN 55448

Co- Hosts: ARRM, BLA, Mary T. Inc, Opportunity Partners, MAMES, MN-CCD
Help promote the event -- download the promotional flyer

Wednesday, October 12th, 6:30-8:30 pm

Senate District 9 and 10, House District 10A and 10B
Arrowwood Lodge
6967 Lake Forest Rd
Baxter, MN 56425

Co-Hosts: Lutheran Social Service of Minnesota, Minnesota Coalition for the Homeless, MN-CCD, NAMI MN
Help promote the event -- download the promotional flyer

Monday, October 17th, 6:00-8:00 pm

District 25/26
Zumbro Lutheran Church- Kairos Room
624 3rd Ave SW

Rochester, MN 55902

Co-Hosts: ARRM, BLA, Cardinal of MN, Hiawatha Homes, The Arc, Southeastern MN, MAMES, MN-CCD
Help promote the event -- download the promotional flyer


Tuesday, October 18th, 6:00-8:00 pm

Congressional District 3
Opportunity Partners- Koch Campus
5500 Opportunity Court

Minnetonka, MN 55343

Co-Hosts: ARRM, Arc MN, Arc GTC, MOHR, Opportunity Partners, Mary T. Inc, Bethesda, Fraser, Reach for Resources, Mains’l, Hammer, MAMES, MN-CCD
Help promote the event -- download the promotional flyer

Learn More About the Best Life Alliance
Ways to get Involved
View News & Media Coverage 


For more information:

Grassroots and Legislative Questions:
Sara Grafstrom, 
Director of Advocacy and Community Relations, ARRM
651-291-1086, ext. 8

Media Inquiries
Julie Peters,
Communications Director, Opportunity Partners
Office: 952-930-4208
Cell: 952-451-7527

Sign up to receive email updates from the Best Life Alliance